Match 7: Rajasthan Royals (RR) vs Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) – 20 April 2014

After a fabulous win over Chennai Super Kings in their first match, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) is all set to take on Rajasthan Royals on Monday night. The KXIP team chased down a record target of 206 runs to register their first win of IPL 2014. The big buys of the team paid off when Glenn Maxwell’s explosive innings of 95 runs of just 43 balls helped them to secure a win against a very good team. Virender Sehwag got a good start but failed once again to convert that into a big inning while David Miller batted brilliantly throughout his inning of 54 runs. Team’s bowling was poor as they were butchered by CSK batsman throughout the innings. KXIP need a decent opening start so that players like Maxwell, Miller, Bailey can capitalize on that. Team will be looking to continue their winning run against RR as well.

Click here for live scores  Click here to Watch Online

Rajasthan Royals who played brilliantly in the first match against SRH need to improve their performance if they want to pose any challenge for KXIP. Despite a win, RR needs to reasses themselves and figure out the lapses in their batting department. The team did not get to a good start against a deadly bowling of SRH but determination of Ajinkya Rahane and later on Stuart Binny kept the team in hunt and they did manage to chase down a low target in the final over. Bowling was superb on that day as they restricted aggresive SRH batsmen from scoring quickly. RR captain Shane Watson has to perform up to his name. RR vs KXIP contest is going to be very exciting that’s for sure.

Teams Squad:
Rajasthan Royals: Abhishek Nayar, Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson (wk), Shane Watson (C), Stuart Binny, Brad Hodge, Rajat Bhatia, James Faulkner, Kane Richardson, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pravin Tambe, Steve Smith, Tim Southee, Ben Cutting, Karun Nair, Unmukt Chand, Iqbal Abdulla, Deepak Hooda, Dishant Yagnik, Kevon Cooper, Vikramjeet Malik, Ankit Sharma, Rahul Tewatia, Ankush Bains, A Mishra,

Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (C), David Miller, Manan Vohra, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Virender Sehwag, Rishi Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shaun Marsh, Cheteshwar Pujara, Beuran Hendricks, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Thisara Perera, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Murali Kartik, Sandeep Sharma, Mandeep Singh, Akshar Patel, Parvinder Awana, Shardul Thakur, Anureet Singh, Shivam Sharma, Karanveer Singh

Match Details:
Timings: Match Scheduled to begin at 8:00 PM IST on 20 April 2014
Venue: Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium, Sharjah (UAE)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *