Match 4: Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals at Abu Dhabi – 18 April 2014

The first match of IPL 2014 is very important for both these teams as they will look to start the tournament on a winning node. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is playing for the second time in IPL. After suspension of Deccan Chargers as an IPL team, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) was formed and IPL 2013 was their first participation as IPL team. On the other hand the winner of the first edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2008 Rajasthan Royals (RR) will get onto the field without their legendary batsman Rahul Dravid. However, he is available in the team as the chief mentor of RR. His counterpart and close friend VVS Laxman is the mentor of the opposite team SRH. Both teams look fresh and are willing to grab 2 points in their opening match.

Click here for live scores     Click here to watch online

Team Composition: Shikhar Dhawan led SRH has got good names in the squad. Likes of Darren Sammy, Amit Mishra, Dale Styen, Aaron Finch, David Warner, Irfan Pathan and Moises Henriques make SRH a comparative team. The team influenced a lot with its bowling last year and won several matches through their bowling efforts. This year also team has got good combination of spin and pace attack bowling. Batsmen of SRH are well known players but they need to score runs if SRH have to compete with a better side.

Experienced player Shane Watson has been given the responsibility of leading RR team in IPL 2014. Watson himself is a world-class all-rounder and the RR team has good mixture of players in IPL 7. Brad Hodge, Ajinkya Rahane, James Faulkner, Sanju Samson, Steven Smith, Ben Cutting, Tim Southee and Kevon Cooper are some of RR key players. Team looks well balanced on papers but what they deliver will only be seen on the field.

Head to Head:
Matched Played: 3
Sunrisers Hyderabad win: 1
Rajasthan Royals win: 2

Last 5 Matches:
Sunrisers Hyderabad: ALLWL
Rajasthan Royals: LWWWW

Match Details:
Timings: Match Scheduled to begin at 9:30 PM IST on 18 April 2014
Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *