Aadhaar based LPG-subsidy launched in 18 districts

Aadhaar based LPG-subsidy scheme launched today in 18 districts of the country. Petroleum Minister M Veerappa Moily launched the scheme in Tumkur, Karnataka while MOS for Petroleum and Natural Gas Lakshmi Panabaka and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister launched the scheme in Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh. Earlier the scheme was to be launched in 20 districts from Jinu 1 but two districts viz. Mysore (in Karnataka) and Mandi (in HP) have been removed from this list because of elections. Under this scheme the LPG consumer will be credited with an amount of Rs. 435 into his Aadhaar linked bank account at the time of booking refill of LPG cylinder. The consumer will have to purchase the LPG cylinder from his dealer at the market rate.

Government is hopeful of implementing this scheme throughout the country before 2014 and its implementation will depend on the outcomes of the implementation in these 18 districts. Government expects an annual saving of Rs. 8 to 10 thousand crore in LPG subsidy through this scheme. LPG consumer will get 9 subsidized cylinders every year. The Aadhaar based DBT will reduce misuse of the subsidized cylinders to a significant level. The date for submission of KYC form by gas agencies has also come to an end. Consumer having more than one connection will be stopped LPG supply as per the rules. Majority of people from these 18 districts have got their Aadhaar numbers. Those who do not have Aadhaar numbers yet will be provided an additional grace period of 3 months to obtain their 12-digit UID number.

The 18 districts where the DBT for LPG is being launched from 1st June include Anantpur, Chittoor, East Godavari, Hyderabad and Ranga Reddy in Andhra Pradesh; Diu in Daman and Diu; North Goa; Bilaspur, Hamirpur and Una in Himachal Pradesh; Tumkur in Karnataka; Pathanamthitta and Wayand in Kerala; Wardha in Maharasthra; Pondicherry; SBS Nagar/Nawanshahar in Punjab and East Nimar (Khandwa) and Harda in Madhya Pradesh. The scheme would be rolled out in Mandi and Mysore from 1st July.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *